Downward Spiral

It seems that once again scientific progress is taking a backseat to so called “moral progress.” James Watson is selling his Nobel Prize for discovering the Double Helix structure of DNA (h/t Contemplationist).

After reading the article, I’m still trying to figure out if this is an apologetic gesture. Perhaps it’s a sacrificial offering to the Cathedral. After all, he has admitted he hopes that selling the medal will help him to “re-enter public life” after being ostracized for his comments about African IQ. I want to believe it’s a symbolic gesture to the Cathedral, as if to say, “Take your moral progress and shove it, hippy scum!” I doubt that’s what he’s thinking, but that’s what I would say if I were in his position.

I can’t say I have much insight into the heart of Professor Watson, but my heart goes out to him nonetheless. The fact that one of the most accomplished scientists in history has to sell off the symbol of one of his greatest contributions to biology to make ends meet simply for telling the truth deeply saddens me.

This entry was posted in Cathedral, Race, Science and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Downward Spiral

  1. The way I read it, it sounds like he’s just trying to pay his bills.

  2. Pingback: Downward Spiral | Neoreactive

Leave a Reply

